Corporate Renewal Solutions Blog

View of and news about the topics and industries of corporate renewal, business transformation, turnaround and business rescue in South Africa.

Tuesday, June 26, 2007

Feedback on Department of Trade and Industry workshop on Chapter 6 of the Companies Bill (Business rescue)

If the views of the business rescue workshop participants will be taken into account, it may lead to key changes in the next draft of Chapter 6. 

Participants included the following:

  • Tshepo Mongalo, Chairperson and Project Manager: Company Law Reform.
  • Linda van Dieman: Assistant Director: Department of Trade & Industry.
  • Bongi Mncube, Team Assistant: Department of Trade & Industry.
  • Mpheane Lepaku, Deputy Director: Department of Trade & Industry.
  • Nica Rakau, Legal Unit Head, National Union of Mineworkers (an affiliate of COSATU).
  • Janek Wilimiec, Manager: Legal Services, FEDUSA.
  • Justice Basheer Waglay, Judge of the Cape High Court.
  • Shibishi Samuel Maruatona, Director, Business Leadership South Africa.
  • Sisa Njikelana, Member of Parliament of the Republic of South Africa and of the Portfolio Committee on Trade and Industry of the National Assembly.
  • Tebogo Marishane, National Treasury.
  • Ashley Benjamin, Official of FEDUSA, Durban.
  • Fachmy Abrahams, National Collective Bargaining Officer, SACTWU, (an affiliate of COSATU).
  • Prakashnee Govender, Policy Researcher of COSATU.
  • Jenny Meyer, Group Company Secretary, Anglo Platinum Ltd.
  • Karin Rathbane, Associate, Deloitte, Johannesburg.
  • John Evans, Principal, Deloitte, Pretoria.
  • Kgosi Monaisa, Principal Company Secretarial Advisor, SASOL Ltd.
  • Themba September, Chairman, Association of Business Administrators in South Africa (ABASA).
  • Werner Joubert, Legal Credit, Rand Merchant Bank.
  • David Burdette, Professor, University of Pretoria.
  • Kevin Cron, Director, Deneys Reitz, Johannesburg (Representing the Banking Association).
  • James Davies, Partner, Webber Wentzel Bowens, Johannesburg.
  • Adam Harris, Council, Bowman Gilfillan.
  • Rory Voller, Director: Legal Services, Companies & Intellectual Property Registration Office.
  • Trevor Murgatroyd, Head: Business Support, ABSA.
  • Martinus Cronje, Researcher, South African Law Reform Commission.
  • Mervyn Swartz, Owner, MI Swartz & Associates.
  • Robin Taggart, Manager, NEDBANK.
  • Robert Driman, Director, Deneys Reitz.
  • Anneli Loubser, Professor, University of South Africa.
  • James Galloway, Manager, KPMG.
  • Kevin Cochran, Legal Adviser, NEDBANK.
  • Callie Lombard, Acting Head: Legal Business Support, ABSA.
  • Jan van der Walt, Risk Manager, FNB.
  • Steve Yardley, Franchise Manager, Woolworths.
  • Christiaan Lamprecht, University of Stellenbosch.
  • Goolam Harneker, Finance Manager, Woolworths.
  • Martin Leigh, Director, Standard Bank.
  • Jean du Plessis, Head: Workout and Restructuring, Industrial Development Corporation (IDC).
  • Lawrence Ngobeni, Director, SAFTRUST.
  • Jan van der Walt, CEO, Corporate Renewal Solutions.
  • Nicky Lala Mohan, General Manager, Banking Association.
  • Kenneth Shibambo, M.S.O., SASBO.
  • Siphiwo Gangca, Labour Market Co-ordinator, NACTU.
  • Victor Mabuli, Association for the Advancement of Black Accountants in South Africa (ABASA).
  • Jill Oliphant, Attorney, DMO Attorneys.
  • Thavi Padiachy, Director, African General Equity Financial Solutions.
  • Sechaba Moletsane, Director, Tsebo Consulting.

The following organisations were represented:

  • The Department of Trade and Industry.
  • Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU).
  • The Federations of Unions of South Africa (FEDUSA).
  • The Standing Advisory Committee on Company Law in South Africa (SACCL).
  • Business Unity South Africa (BUSA).
  • Portfolio Committee For Trade & Industry of Parliament of the Republic of South Africa.
  • National Treasury.
  • Southern African Clothing and Textiles Workers Union (SACTWU).
  • National Union of Mineworkers (NUM).
  • Anglo Platinum Ltd.
  • Deloitte.
  • Sasol Ltd.
  • Association of Business Administrators of South Africa (ABASA).
  • Joubert & Robertson.
  • University of Pretoria.
  • Banking Association of South Africa (BASA).
  • Webber Wentzel Bowens (WWB).
  • Association of Insolvency Practitioners in South Africa (AIPSA).
  • Companies & Intellectual Property Registration Office (CIPRO).
  • ABSA Bank Ltd.
  • Department Of Justice & Constitutional Development.
  • Association of Chartered Secretaries & Administrators in South Africa (ICSA).
  • NEDBANK Ltd.
  • Deneys Reitz.
  • University of South Africa (UNISA).
  • KPMG.
  • FNB Ltd.
  • Turnaround Management Association - Southern Africa (TMA-SA).
  • Standard Bank of Southern Africa Ltd.
  • Industrial Development Corporation (IDC).
  • Corporate Renewal Solutions.
  • SASBO.
  • National Council of Trade Unions (NACTU).
  • African General Equity Financial Solutions.
  • Tsebo Consulting (Pty) Ltd.

The dti prepared a feedback document on the business rescue workshop, which it distributed on Monday 25 June.  However, the dti requested that the feedback as well as documentation distributed at the workshop be kept out of the public domain for the time being.

Corporate Renewal Solutions, as a participant in the ongoing consultation process with government regarding new business rescue legislation, wishes to respect government's wishes and this web site will therefore not comment on proceedings until such time as government has released official information in this regard.

For complete information, see Turnaround events.

This turnaround news flash was brought to you by CRS Turnaround Management - turnaround management consulting firm rescuing distressed companies and improving results of underperforming companies in South Africa.